top of page
Search

Wallows Virtual World Tour: One Fan's Experience


Written by: Emily Lutz


Live music as we know it has completely flipped upside down. Covid-19 struck, everyone was forced to change how they lived day-to-day, and the music industry, especially, was hit severely.


Bands and artists alike had to find a new “normal.” As recording and making music became remote, concerts needed to go virtual as well.


Live music is what makes up a large portion of musicians’ salaries, so it was absolutely imperative that, once it was safe enough, they could come together and give fans what they’ve been so desperately craving. One of the most recent bands to do so is Wallows.


The band's “Virtual World Tour,” was made up of four live shows at The Roxy Theatre in West Hollywood, California. Each show was set in a different time zone and given a different setlist to make it feel as normal as possible.


Night one started off with the group’s debut album, "Nothing Happens", being played in full for the first time ever. As soon as they started playing “Only Friend,” I felt n instant rush of emotions.


It really hit me how much I miss not only live music overall, but just the band themselves. Hearing all of the transitions between each song in a live setting filled me with so much joy that I never knew I could have.


Since "Nothing Happens" is my favorite album by Wallows, I felt like this show was practically meant for me. The only two songs from this album that I had never heard live were "Worlds Apart" and "What You Like", and I had said many times that I wouldn’t be complete until I saw these songs live (I think this is pretty close enough.)


"What You Like" is tied for my favorite song on the album, so it was extra special to finally see that one. The last two songs on the album, "I’m Full" and "Do Not Wait" have a satisfying transition in between them, and while I’ve seen both songs live, I’ve never heard them back to back.


This was just another unique little detail to add to the list. To close out the show, they played the album’s bonus tracks, “Trust Fall” and “Just Like A Movie", making this show was everything I've ever needed and more.


Night two was a setlist of fan-voted songs. Weeks prior to announcing the streamed shows, Wallows asked fans to choose up to 15 of their favorite songs that the group had put out.


However, it wouldn’t be until the virtual world tour came to light that the fans would know the reasoning behind all of it. The group went backward with the list starting from number fifteen and going down through to number one.


Coincidentally, just like the last show, this one also started out with “Only Friend”, which I can’t really complain about, because that song is an amazing way to get a crowd hyped up. The vibes were then slowed down to the first non-album song, which was the single “Uncomfortable.”


This is a track I’ve had stuck in my head a lot lately so I was pretty happy that it made the list. My favorite song of the show came a little later when they played “Drunk On Halloween.”


It’s one of my absolute favorite Wallows songs and I had only heard them play it acoustically during a meet and greet. To finish off the show in the number one spot, the trio performed their new single "OK" live for the first time.


A lot of songs that I had voted for my made the setlist, so this show was definitely pleasing to me. The setlist of night three was handpicked by the band as though it was a typical night of a tour.


The first two songs were “Do Not Wait” and “Only Friend”, with a flawless transition in between. Both times I’ve seen Wallows they started the show with those two songs so, while it felt natural, it really reminded me of how much I miss them.


I personally liked this set way more than the fan-picked setlist. It had fan-favorites like “Are You Bored Yet?”, “Scrawny”, and “These Days”, but it also had some of my own favorites like “I’m Full”, “Remember When”, and “Pictures of Girls.”


To close out the show, Wallows debuted their newest single, “Nobody Gets Me (Like You).” For the fourth and final live stream, how they chose the songs on the setlist remained a mystery until two days before the show when the band tweeted, “This setlist’s got the old ones, some essentials, and some first-timers.”


Dylan Minnette had also tweeted, “If you consider yourself an ‘OG’ or ‘avid’ Wallows fan I’d recommend tuning in.” The group started out the set with the first four singles they ever released- “Pleaser,” “Sun Tan,”  “Uncomfortable,” and “Pulling Leaves Off Trees.”


The setlist then continued with some songs off of Wallows’ debut EP “Ground.” Next up was “Underneath the Streetlights in the Winter Outside Your House,” the live debut of “1980s Horror Film II,” and “Drunk On Halloween.”


The last few songs consisted of some show “essentials”, including three songs from "Nothing Happens" and their two newest singles. To close out the show, Wallows played an unreleased song titled “Virtual Aerobics.”


Although it still isn't officially out, I am very much looking forward to being able to listen to it again, along with the rest of their upcoming EP, “Remote.” This was probably my second favorite set they played, closely behind the first set, as there were quite a few of these songs that I had yet to hear live.


Wallows did an outstanding job of putting on four amazing shows that really felt like a “world tour”, from the setlists to the timezone consideration. To ensure the quickest way for live music to come back, please wear a mask and follow social distancing protocols!


You can keep up with the Wallows by following them on Twitter @wallowsmusic, and be sure to preorder the upcoming EP, “Remote,” out October 23rd. If you attended any of these live stream shows, feel free to let us know what you thought by tweeting us @lgndsoftmrw!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page