top of page
Search

Touche Amore - "I'll Be Your Host" Review


Written by Jennifer Moglia


On Wednesday, September 2nd, 2020, Los Angeles post-hardcore band Touche Amore released the second single from their upcoming album, “Lament.” Titled “I’ll Be Your Host”, the track seems to take a look at the pressure and mental toll having to be a spokesperson of sorts for a disease can be.


The band’s last full-length, “Stage Four”, released in 2016, was a record focused on lead singer Jeremy Bolm’s mother passing away due to cancer. Personally, it’s my favorite album of theirs, and one of my favorites of all time; the passionately written lyrics are delivered with such power and pain, over soaring instrumentals.


Having to follow up possibly your best work to date is something daunting, and could feel impossible, but Touche Amore hits it out of the park with this track. It continues the heavy theme of grieving that was introduced on “Stage Four”, but looks at it from a different perspective this time.


The opening lyrics, “Put a pink ribbon on to join the pain brigade / Our numbers are impressive, I’m afraid” alludes to the unfortunately large number of people impacted by cancer, whether they are affected themselves or have to watch a loved one suffer through it. Bolm’s lyrics are near-anthemic on the chorus, screaming, “I’ll be your host, against my will”, acknowledging that he has become a kind of liaison for others who are grieving, being approached with fans’ stories of grief at or after shows.


This thread runs through the whole song, in phrases like “I didn’t ask to lead this party...It’s not what I would have chosen / It’s not what I want at all”, as well as “At what point is enough, enough? / I don’t want this role, I give it up / But that’s not enough.” Possibly the most hard-hitting lyrics of all come just after the second verse, when Bolm’s insecurities shine through, asking, “Can you tell when I’m panicking? / I’m a shell of my former self / Can you tell when I’m babbling?”, re-visiting those conversations with supporters about their own struggles.


If this is any indicator of what we can expect from Touche Amore’s new record, I’m even more excited about it than I was before. This band manages to keep their signature sound, while still growing and maturing, saying something new and fresh in a different way each time.


“Lament” is out on October 9th, and can be pre-ordered on vinyl, CD, or digital download, along with album-themed merch, on Touche Amore’s website. You can follow the band on Twitter @ToucheAmore.


What did you think of “I’ll Be Your Host?” Let us know by tweeting us @lgndsoftmrw and look out for our review of “Lament” coming next month!



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page