top of page
Search

"Retitled"- Eleanor & The Pretty Things Review


Written by: Lyric Beyerl


Eleanor & The Pretty Things, an indie-punk band from Boston, Massachusetts, dropped their second EP, "Retitled", on September 4th. The five-track release begins with "Figure This Out", which starts as a slow song about heartbreak.


It picks up speed towards the end with punkish scream vocals relaying the message, “I’m sorry I’ve been so detached / I’m a stranger in this vessel / Can’t find my way back.” 

Lyrics like “I blame myself because I pushed you into the dark” and “I’ll leave some room for you, right here in the ground” make "Knight Of Cups" sound like an apology wrapped up in something even darker, in a hauntingly beautiful way.


"Housewarming" sounds like anything but the title, betraying its cozy name by portraying loneliness at its best, emphasizing the act of missing someone. "Pull", a song of change, emotional turmoil and not wanting to lose someone includes lyrics like “I am feeling desperate / Pulling apart my head," and “I still feel the shape of you / And I don’t want to lose you.”


The last track, "Eggshell", somehow seems daunting to me. The song is laced with anxious, heavy emotions, shining through in the phrases, “You felt the walls closing in, a soft eggshell white.”


The track also channels a bitter, yet still optimistic side; “I’ve been picking up after myself / Found home in a nice cracked eggshell.”  It’s definitely my favorite song off of this EP.


Eleanor & The Pretty Things released a stellar EP, one that you should definitely check out. You can keep up with the band by following them on Twitter @eleanorbandma, and you can support them by streaming "Retitled" anywhere you listen to music.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page