top of page
Search

"Pink Elephant"- Stand Atlantic Review


Written by: Hannah Clough

Pop Punk 4 piece Stand Atlantic are finally days away from releasing what I think will be one of the biggest albums of the year. The follow up to 2018’s Skinny Dipping is entitled Pink Elephant and it’s set to drop on August 7th, I know a band’s sophomore album is probably pretty stressful with not knowing if fans will love it as much as the debut, but I think Stand Atlantic has nothing to worry about. This album is full of straight bangers like DWYW, songs that make you want to sit in the rain and cry like Drink To Drown and everything in-between. Pink Elephant is just a roller coaster ride of emotions it look me a few days and countless listens to even put my thoughts together cohesively, The album starts off strong with ‘Like That” which I can definitely see being played live when we can return to shows, this song is high energy and just a good solid opening track. After hit single “Shh” comes one of my personal favorite tracks “Blurry”. This track is pretty mysterious and has the slightest bit of Skinny Dipping vibes, I can see it being a favorite amongst the fans.  Following is another single entitled “Jurassic Park” which deserves it’s spot as a single, next is the song that intrigued me the most as it’s title is Eviligo, and since I took a bit of Latin in school I recognized it as a Latin word, but had absolutely no clue what it meant. After much research, I figured out it means to wake up in Latin and I think the song  fits the title, it’s a great upbeat dancing song with a sick breakdown towards the end. We hit the halfway point with “Wavelength” before moving into the first ballad on the album “Drink To Drown”, this song hit close to home and had me in tears before the first chorus, if played live it would be an intense tearjerker. They gratefully pick things back up with what I think is going to be the best pit song “DWYW” Jonno crushes the drums in this song and it’s just high energy and a great pick me up. Prepare for your feelings to be hurt again with “Silk and Satin” because Bonnie’s raw vocals mixed with an interesting simple beat will definitely be the one song people weren’t expecting out of the band. Two songs left on the album and don’t worry your heart is safe it won’t be breaking anymore, but “Soap” is classic Stand Atlantic all the way. Everything from the vocals and lyrics to the heavy guitar brought to you by Bonnie and Potter is their style and what we’re used to hearing from them. The closer on the album is the first taste we got of new Stat with “ Hate Me (Sometimes)”, this song is a great one to drive to it’s high energy provides a good time whenever you listen to it, and when the tour for this album hits the U.S watch out for surfers because they’re not going to stop during this song. As a whole this album is killer and has without a doubt found a way into my top 10 albums of the year, it drops August 7thso there’s still time to preorder it on their webstore and the vinyl pressings are sick. Even if Stand Atlantic aren’t your exact cup of tea listen to this album you won’t regret it.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page