top of page
Search

Jillian Jordyn Discusses Debut Single "Fake Friends" and More- Interview


Photo by Tracey Spero

Written by Gemma Marshall

This month we had the pleasure of interviewing Jillian Jordyn, an up-and-coming pop musician. Jillian Jordyn, also known by her acting name Jillian Rose, has jumped head-first into the music world and we're here for it!


We were able to really dive into how her music career has been going since her first single “Fake Friends” was released, any and all new music she has in the works, and what it’s like to be a young woman in the music industry.


Gemma Marshall: First off, introduce yourself. As a new artist, give our readers a little insight on who you are as a young woman entering the music industry!


Jillian Jordyn: I have been singing and acting as far back as I can remember! I’m 16 Years old.


I feel at home performing whether it's at Halftime of a New York Knicks game at Madison Square Garden as I did in 2017 or the National Anthem at Citi Field before a New York Mets game in the Summer of 2018.


That was just the beginning as 2019 was even bigger, I was cast in a recurring role on the long-running NBC hit Law and Order: SVU and began performing on national tours of Boys Of Summer as well as opening for TikTok sensations Cash and Maverick.


In December 2019 I sang at the Winter Lights festival in Orlando. Right now I’m focused on making more music and getting back on tour!


GM: You just released your debut single “Fake Friends” on Friday, June 4th. It’s been about a few weeks now, how has this all been for you so far? Anything unexpected or exciting?


JJ: It has been so amazing! The feedback has been so positive, I am so amazed at how much people are connecting to it.


GM: Give me a little bit of insight on what the process of writing that was like?


JJ: It was a long process for sure. It took over two years to get it finally finished.


My songwriting partner Bella and I worked so well together. Our partnership definitely helped me in my process. She helped me take all my thoughts and make them into this song.


GM: So everyone definitely can relate to having fake friends in their life, is that your inspiration behind the meaning of the song or is there anything else you’d like to touch on?


JJ: That’s the exact inspiration of the song. Everyone can relate to it. It is such a universal topic, I wanted people to know that they weren’t alone in their friendship struggles.


GM: Your music video for “Fake Friends” dropped on June 11th, what was the creative vision behind that?


JJ: I wanted it to be mostly performance-based so everyone would focus on the words with a simple visual. The end was my favorite part.


My best friend Carrie came in to show that yes, some friends are fake but to focus on the real true ones instead

GM: Do you have any plans for a full length album or EP in the following months? If so, what does that look like for you?


JJ: I am hoping to have an EP or an album drop soon. I guess we'll see what the future holds!


GM: Leading off of that, albums usually lead to shows being played so is there any plan on playing live this year?


JJ: I have some performances coming soon, I can’t say too much yet but you’ll hear fake friends live very soon...shhhh...


GM: Have you faced any hardships coming into the music industry? Any advice you’d give to other young adults joining the music scene?


JJ: The music industry is hard. Be confident in yourself and in what you do.


It’s an industry full of “no” so love yourself and your work and keep going. Make a yes!


GM: Who are some of your inspirations in your career; Anyone from musical artists to family members, who’s pushed you the most to get you to where you are now?


JJ: My biggest inspiration is Justin Bieber. Seeing him perform inspired me to start singing. He is the reason I’m here and doing music at all.


GM: Is there anything else you’d like our readers to know about you?


JJ: You can follow me on all socials @Jillianjordynn I'll be posting updates and announcements there! Be on the lookout for some tour dates.


You can keep up with Jillian Jordyn on Instagram @jillianjordynn. You can also stream her music on your preferred streaming service!


Be sure to stay tuned for what’s to come from her in the months to follow, she’s definitely a force to be reckoned with, so keep an eye out!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page