top of page
Search

Interview with Kulick


Interview by: Madison Boyce


I got the chance to ask Pennsylvania singer-songwriter Kulick a few questions about all of the new projects and new music he has in the works.


For those who don’t know, who is Kulick?

Kulick is a singer/songwriter from a small town in Pennsylvania. His band consists of his closest friends and family. He writes songs that are organically pure, combined with some alternative pop production. 

How has Kulick been affected during COVID? Any positives?

It has made me write a lot and really reflect on my life, both personally and professionally. Financially, it has been difficult, but we have all been hustling and creating. 

Going off of that: I know it feels like COVID is practically ruining the music scene right now. How are you handling it all? I try not to look at it as "COVID is ruining the music scene." I try to see it more as an opportunity to really get deep and create. When this all passes, the ones who stayed busy making music will have a product worth seeing. We shouldn't focus on what we can't do, but instead, focus on what we can do. 


How has the reaction been to “Rope” as well as the album announcement?  Everyone seems to really be enjoying "Rope." I was really blown away by how many people showed their excitement for the new song and record. It's been fun being able to show everyone some behind-the-scenes of how all of this art was made as well.


In what ways has the recording process changed from “Hydroplane” to “Yelling in a Quiet Neighborhood”? It's been completely different. With this record, I was able to create every song and produce them the way I always wanted to. I always wanted to be more of an artist who produces and writes his own records, not just sing along to a song that I never made with lyrics I never wrote. I don't enjoy singing that much to want to just sing all the time. I look up to a lot of artists who do like that route of mostly singing, and neither route is better than the other. I just like to create more than sing. With all of that being said, I'm really excited to share the first record I've ever released that is 100% me creatively. 


What has been your favorite tour you've been on? Each tour has given me different lessons, experiences, and memories. I could never choose a favorite, and I can't wait to go on another one when we're able to. Even though I never thought it would be, touring has been one of my things about being an artist. 


What’s your favorite fan experience? Any memorable ones? We played a show somewhere south opening for Sleeping With Sirens and The Rocket Summer and after our set, we went to the merch table to meet fans. One boy there reminded me of myself as a child energy-wise, and he was such a big fan immediately, and it was his first concert. To see that look on his face just brought me so much joy. I want to be a good person and be someone people look up to, so that moment was special to me.


Anything you want to say to the people reading right now?  Just a big thank you. This year has been tough for so many reasons personally. I needed the music as I always have, and you were patient and stayed with me. It makes me feel so connected and less alone. I think that's why we all love music, but this is my music. My emotions and life experiences. To be able to be an artist is an incredible thing and I am and will always be grateful for that. Thank you for supporting me. It's beginning to feel like my own little neighborhood.


We want to thank Kulick for his time and for doing this interview with us! Make sure to check out "Yelling in a Quiet Neighborhood" when it's out on October 16th.


You can support Kulick by picking up some merch on his online store and keep up to date with everything he's been doing lately by following him on Twitter @KulickOfficial. If there are any other artists you'd want to see interviews with on our site, let us know by tweeting us @lgndsoftmrw!


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page