top of page
Search

Interview: Fit The Bill


Written by: David Tauscher

I recently got to chat with Michigan punk band Fit the Bill, who just released a 4-song split with Fermont Pike just last month. I spoke with Guitarist/Vocalist Cody about music, the pandemic and everything in between!


So, I’ll start by saying I’ve never interviewed a band before! So, I am stoked my first one is a punk band.


Cody: Aye nice, we are stoked to be the first ones! 


“Life is pretty crazy at the moment, how are you guys holding up?” 


Cody: We have been doing pretty good! We are both working again right now. When I say that I meant because of COVID and everything, we are both home right now. 


“All Good” 


“What do you guys do outside of music, and I guess I should also ask how many members are in the band? I was looking through your Instagram and you guys recently went through a lineup change?


Cody: Yeah! So right now, it’s only Miles and I, but for the most part we really just mess around recording music. We have been trying to work on our mixing and mastering skills as well. Other than that, we try to be outside as much as we can honestly, going out on trails and what not. 


“Nice, I’ve been doing a lot of hiking as well! It’s one of the few good things to come out of this whole mess.” 


“I’ve also wanted to learn how to record my own stuff too. This is good haha, all leading into my questions. So, you said Fit the Bill is you and Miles, who plays what and when did you guys form the band? 


C: Yes! Gave us a lot of free time to go out places, it was great haha. The weather wasn’t the best during the beginning of our lockdown though so that was lame. 

Right now, when we record all of our stuff Miles & I both record guitars and take turns with bass then Miles has been playing the drums on the recordings we have right now. I actually started “the band” around 2014-2015 with an old friend but it never really went anywhere until Miles ended up joining in 2017. That’s when we started playing shows. Before that it was just me playing some acoustic songs I had, and some random punk covers at a shitty bars in Port Huron Michigan.


“That’s dope! Sometimes I feel having a smaller group is better, easier to bounce ideas off of each other. How did you end up with the name Fit The Bill?” 


C: It was actually the founding members idea back when we were just pretending to play songs in my aunts basement haha


“And no thoughts to change it? It’s a cool name but just curious. Another question is who got you inspired you to start playing music? How did you guys land on punk, any influences come to mind?” 


C: Thanks! Haha, well nothing else really came up ever and it just stuck. But I would definitely say Good Charlotte and blink are what brought me into the punk side. Miles grew up listening to a lot of The Maine and then 90’s rock and indie, so that’s where a lot of his influences come from and you can hear that in a lot of our new songs we have coming up!


“Ohh new song, nice! Any details you can share? Maybe I am showing my age but I grew up listening to 90’s skate punk and from there I followed a lot of Fat records bands and to me the golden age of punk was like 05’-09’ish.” 


“I think I saw The Maine on the Sad Summer Fest a year or two ago, pretty good band!”


C: So actually back when lockdown first started we had booked studio time but the lockdown started 3 days before. We ended up having the option to either record remotely (at our house), or reschedule. But our friend Hector from Puerto Rico has here specifically to record a split together. So we just ended up recording everything in house! Then we sent everything to the studio for mixing. We have a single released from it right now and the rest comes out on August 28th! Other than that we are starting the scratch tracks from LP 1 tonight!


“That’s tight, glad you guys were able to get stuff done! LP 1 that’s exciting!”


C: Yes I’m very stoked, well we are I guess I should say haha.


I’m guessing a spring 2021 release for LP1? 


C: we aren’t totally sure on the release yet. But we plan to record everything in house, and then send it into a studio for mixing this time. But we will be sending it somewhere different this time around. 


“Dope, what do you think we can expect to hear on the new album or is it too early to tell?”


C: The Cranberries, indie punk music, and art


“Maybe Im just overly enthusiastic but that’s very exciting! Do you think COVID has had an input on your creative output, has it influenced your writing or some of the material coming up? Possibly in the new song?


C: So Miles wrote the 2 songs we have on our split EP release with the band called Fremont Pike, “Long Way Back”, and “Fake Smile”. I would say Fake Smile had some quarantine vibes for sure. But really everything that happened with COVID helped us have more time for the music instead of working as much as we were before. Pretty much as soon as we knew we wouldn’t be working we tried to jump into recording stuff. Once we aquirred the mics and others we wanted we started putting stuff out. As far as the song coming out on August 28th that’s with our friend from the band called “Hechael”. Both our songs release on that split are old songs Miles hadn’t gotten around to putting out yet, and wen thought it would be cool to get finished versions of them.


“For sure, I was wondering how artists are coping with the whole no touring thing. Im sure it must be killing you guys. If you could tour with any bands right now, who would you choose?


C: We weren’t able to go on tour yet, but last year we played a ton of shows so it hurts not being able to right now. I would want to tour with Prince Daddy & The Hyena, or Heart Attack Man, or both! Miles would probably say The Main of course haha and then he has been really into Oso Oso. 


“Sick! I am really showing my age here because I don’t know any of those bands but I’ll definetly check them out. 


“With touring non-existent, do you think young bands have an advantage with being able to connect with so many people or do you think its harder to stand out since so many artists are out there in a pretty oversaturated market?” 


C: I think that really depends on what bands were doing with their online presence before all of this happened. If they didn’t have a lot going on for them social media wise it’s probably harder to keep afloat when we all have now is our socials really. But at the same time I think if you had a good media following it would definetly be easier to stand out among the bands that didn’t before. 


“True, if someone isn’t already established so has some sort of small following it can be very difficult to stand out. I always wondered how rap/hip-hop artists could go from unknown to the biggest thing the next day just based off soundcloud. But it’s got to be that loyal following.” 


“Ok, final question, also ‘I just want to say thank you for your time man! This has been a cool experience. Do you have any advice for anyone looking to start a band or record stuff in this day & age?


C: I agree with that for sure! With how much music is coming out all the time, or at least that was. It’s hard to find the stuff that actually sounds different to you. But as far as advice goes, first of all START A BAND 100% if you haven’t already. Try and make good connections with everyone. While recording don’t ever let yourself get you down. Everyone started the same way and you’ll find your way doing things that fits what you need best! Personal experience goes a long way. But thanks for taking the time to interview us for sure!! This was great! 


“Thanks man, cheers!”

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page