top of page
Search

"Genesis"- Deftones Review


Written by: David Tauscher


Deftones is finally back after a 4 year break with a few new singles and a new album coming out on Friday, September 25th, titled “Ohms”. This new single titled “Genesis” is the first track off the upcoming record and the best word I can use to describe the intro is eerie.


DJ/Keyboardist Frank Delgado starts this track with a drone-like effect, and layered above that is a haunting guitar dripping with Deftones signature delay tone. The verse kicks off with drummer Abe Cunningham counting in a one-two click, and the song explodes with vocalist Chino Moreno screeching his heart out. 


Even though I’ve been a Deftones fan for a few years, a lot of their songs have taken time to grow on me, and “Genesis” is no exception. After a few listens it started to feel infectious and I can really appreciate what they are doing in this new track.


Within the song, there’s a push and pull dynamic. I feel as if the heaviness of the guitars and bass along with Cunningham’s steady driving drum beat is playing off of the lyrics Moreno is crooning. 


Over the years, many fans have wanted the band to go back to their heavier style. Every album gets dissected by fans and critics alike for either leaning on the soft/reverb-y side (like their last album, "GORE") or not being heavy enough.


I’d say this song is a good mix of classic heavy Deftones and their shoegaze style. 

As I stated before, it took a bit to grow on me.


Overall, I think this song is pretty good for what it is. It has everything that makes a Deftones song great.


Heavy guitars? Check. Screaming but soothing vocals? Check. Steady drum groove? It’s all there.


The track doesn’t necessarily blow me away but as a standard Deftones song kicking off a new era of the band, it’s pretty good and I say you should give it a listen! 


"Genesis" is available to stream wherever you listen to music, and you can preorder "Ohms", out on September 25th, on their website. If you checked out this single and want to let us know what you thought, you can tweet us @lgndsoftmrw!



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page