top of page
Search

"Fresh Faced & Effervescent"- The Fairview Review


Written by: Lyric Beyerl

The Fairview is a pop-punk band from Boston, Massachusetts. The band consists of Nolan McGoven & Jake Perreault who both do vocals and guitar, bass player Brenna Guay, and drummer Issac Hiller. The Fairview released their newest album Fresh Faced & Effervescent on August 6, 2020, the album has eleven tracks and starts off with Black Cat, Broken Mirror, and Two Dead Birds. Superstitious enough title, the song reflects on life after, after moving away and the underlying changes things bring. “Until the seasons changed and I felt the carpet pull out from under me.”

Your Hair in The Rain is a post-breakup song, the dwelling thoughts on happier days, and the hurt you feel in the present. Following that pattern of an ended relationship, Recover has that somewhat toxic yet relatable presence lingering throughout the words. 

When one experiences heartbreak they can fall into a depressive episode, loneliness becoming your only friend. Only Greys understands that mindset in this song, the suicidal ideations but still the aspiration for things to get better; “All I know is that I was alone and collapsing // With a fistful of pills, god still wouldn’t intervene // So I had to save me.” Easily my favorite song on the record. The next song, Connecticut is sure to be a crowd screamer in the future. The song has all the punk elements (unsurprisingly, considering they are categorized in the genre) from the guitar riffs to the drums and the art of switching vocals more often than not. 

After that, we have an acoustic song called And the Drive Home. The tone sounds a bit off on this one but the feeling is there. The lyrics “I can feel you outgrowing me” tie into their previous track, Connecticut. I think we all have had a pathological liar in our lives and Adhesive gives us that scenario in this track. Litviticus 4:20 is another one where I like the sentiment of the lyrics, but I couldn’t get myself into it. 

People grow and change, it's an inevitable thing in life but it seems as if some people are stuck in their ways. Sometimes you didn’t see how bad that mentality can be at the time because you were in a similar position. Cigarettique is ultimately about progress. It’s the type of song that I could have seen The Wonder Years doing during their younger years. Another song that I can see being a fan pleaser is In Ribcages. “I’m starting to think we’re all just ex-friends and former lovers // Recovering from another and fucking up is inevitable” stand out to me most. 

It’s no secret that life can be hard, things can throw you for a curveball and lead you down a dark path but that doesn’t mean that’s where you have to stay. The state of being effervescent is to be spirited, excited, and alive and that’s exactly what Plan B gives us. It’s the last song off the album, one that despite claiming to not be optimistic is pretty damn optimistic. For the band, it seems like their plan b has become this, “And I am fresh-faced and effervescent // Lonely, tired, beat-down, and stressed out // But I’ll still sing with a broken jaw if it’ll mend the soul of someone else.”

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page