top of page
Search

Britt's Favorite Songs of 2020

Written by Brittany Beers


Like many people during this period of self-isolation, I’ve been grateful for new music. Many of my favorite artists and bands have been putting out new music, and I am loving it. I will admit, my taste in music can at times be all over the place, so it was pretty hard trying to narrow a top 10 down when there has been so much good music to come out of quarantine. Nonetheless, I put together a list of some of my favorite songs from 2020 (so far).



“Sonderland” by Neck Deep

This song is off the band’s new album titled “All Distortions Are Intentional.”

The first time I listened to Sonderland I could just picture it being played live at a concert. As strange as it may sound, I could even imagine the energy from the crowd too.



“10 AM” by State Champs

I couldn’t make this list and not put this song on here. I could totally feel all the raw emotions in this song. I could personally relate to the song’s lyrics but, whether the feelings were romantic or not, many of us have felt the emotions included in the lyrics of this song at one point in our lives.



“VICES” by Mothica

This viral hit from TikTok is the first of a few last-minute additions to my list. “VICES” has become one of my favorite songs since it blew up on the app a few months ago, and it’s off of Mothica’s new album “Blue Hour”, set to drop August 27th.



“Let’s Go Home” by Jake Miller

Even though it was released just a few days ago, “Let’s Go Home” easily made my list. This is an incredibly sweet song that Jake wrote for his girlfriend that immediately melted my heart. His vocals in particular definitely had me obsessed.



“Good News” by Mac Miller

There’s absolutely no way I could make this list and not include the late and

great Pittsburgh native Mac Miller. “Good News” is off Mac’s album “Circles” that was released on January 17th, 2020, what would have been his 28th birthday. This song gives us a glimpse into what he was feeling shortly before he passed. It’s simply sad and haunting.



“Painkiller Weather (Reworked)” by Grayscale

The original version of this song was one of my favorites off of “Nella Vita” and somehow

when they re-recorded it for the “Live From The Barber Shop Studios” EP, I loved it even more than I thought I could. From vocalist Collin Walsh’s voice to the sound of the piano when the song kicked in, I was obsessed.



“The Other Girl” by Halsey and Kelsea Ballerini

This song was kind of a last-minute addition to my list. I heard this song for the first time since the beginning of self-isolation the other day while driving and knew it had to be on my list! It was the duet I didn’t know I needed; I loved how incredibly their voices paired together.



“Safe” by All Time Low

As a fan of All Time low since 2007, I had such a hard time picking just one song off their latest album, “Wake Up, Sunshine.” I ultimately chose “Safe” because it was the first song other than the singles I really fell in love with. It combines classic All Time Low with their newer sound for a perfect summer anthem.



“I’ll Be The One” by Noah Schnacky

Like many people cooped up inside this spring and summer, I found myself on the TikTok app all the time. That’s where I became obsessed with Noah Schancky’s music. After looking him up I realized I had heard his music before randomly on YouTube in 2018, and since then he’s put out a bunch of new music. I’m not always a country fan but I play this song and several of his all the time. This song, in particular, reminds me of something I could have heard on the radio growing up while still sounding relevant to today’s music scene.



“concert for aliens” by Machine Gun Kelly

Originally, Machine Gun Kelly’s song “Bloody Valentine” had the number ten spot, but 24 hours ago when he put out “Concert for Aliens” I knew that it had taken the cake. I originally was super nervous but mostly excited when MGK said he was going with a more pop-punk leaning sound for his next album, but with each new song, I love it more.


Honorable Mentions: “Illicit Affairs” by Taylor Swift, “Jesus In L.A.” by Alec Benjamin, “Bloody “Valentine” by Machine Gun Kelly, “Anyone Else” by Joshua Bassett, “One Single Second” by Set It Off, “Wavelength” by Stand Atlantic, and “Josslyn” by Olivia O’Brien.


What do you think? Do our lists match up? Tweet us your top 10 favorite songs of 2020 so far at @lgndsoftmrw and don’t forget to tag me @BrittanyxSteez so I can share your lists too!


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page